Best Bolts Coverage

Best Bolts Coverage

Tyler Johnson Named President's Award Winner

Syracuse, NY (Syracuse Crunch Release via Tampa Bay Lightning Communications) – American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced today that Tyler Johnson is a 2012-13 President's Award winner.

The President's Awards are given to an AHL organization for excellence in all areas off the ice, and to an AHL player in recognition of his outstanding accomplishments in the past year. The Toronto Marlies were also named President's Award winners.

Undrafted out of the Western Hockey League where he played for his hometown Spokane (Wash.) Chiefs, Johnson followed up his breakout rookie season with an MVP performance in 2012-13. The 22-year-old Johnson led the AHL with 37 goals and finished with 65 points in 62 games, then followed up with 21 points in 18 playoff games to help the Crunch reach the franchise's first Calder Cup Finals. Johnson also made an impression during his first recall to the National Hockey League, chipping in with three goals and three assists in 14 games with the Tampa Bay Lightning.

The President's Award winner announcement came Wednesday evening at a gala reception during the league's annual meeting of the Board of Governors. The James C. Hendy Memorial Award and Thomas Ebright Award were also presented to Chicago Wolves president of business operations Mike Gordon and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins chief executive officer Jeff Barrett respectively.

 The Syracuse Crunch will celebrate 20 years of Crunch hockey at their home opener on October 12, 2013. Season tickets for 2013-14 can be purchased either in person at the Crunch Box Office located at the War Memorial on 800 South State Street in Syracuse, or by calling the office at (315) 473- 4444. For all the latest Crunch information and updates, fans can visit the team's official website at ( or follow the club on Facebook at ( and on Twitter (@SyracuseCrunch).


More Articles


620 WDAE is an iHeartRadio Station

© 2015 iHeartMedia, Inc.